What Went Right

This morning I was full of energy and ambition. I made a long but doable (who am I kidding?) list of household chores to accomplish, including a few errands that I would have liked to run.

Then an hour ago I got really depressed, because Momma didn’t do SQUAT from her list.

The kitchen sink (and surrounding counters) were FULL of dishes demanding a friend.

The floor didn’t get swept.

The bathrooms didn’t get wiped down.

I didn’t get to the gym (read: WHY WON’T THE KIDS GO TO SLEEP?!) But The Manchild (read: MR. FIT) just got in a great workout.

I spent more money today than I had anticipated.

UUUUUUGGGGGGHHHHH!

But, then, I decided to look at the positive. Looky loo, world…

This room remained clean today.
(Hello, sad old couch. This picture makes me not like you.)
So did this one, for the most part.

And this room, though grimy and screaming for a best friend named “Clorox Clean-up”, isn’t a disaster when you walk past it. In fact, it makes me smile, cause I created that beautiful artwork and sign all by myself. Sorry for the bad lighting.
And I kissed on this giggly baby a BUNCH today. Even though that wasn’t on my list.
Although all the clean laundry did not find its way into drawers tonight, I did think enough to carry up a handful of the kids’ undies. They landed outside their bedroom doors, to be dispersed by cheerful helpers in the morning). Good enough.

and… MOMMA DONE SOLD DADDY’S OLD iPHONE TO SOME SUCKER WHO PAID WAY MORE THAN HE SHOULD HAVE FOR IT!!! MOMMA DONE GOT HERSELF A REMODELING BUDGET IN ONE AFTERNOON!

As Big Sis would say, “Hey girl, shake that thang, shake that thang, now FREEZE!” (dance to that if you want)

Let’s not forget that my dear husband, sensed that my good mood was declining as my chance to workout died and Lil’ Sis was rockin’ out in the kitchen WAY past bedtime (which was really bugging me, even though it was cauuute), commenced to unloading the clean dishes and loading the dishwasher. That is just awesome.

See the dirty dishes? They’re gone now. See the dozen coral roses? He bought me those on Thursday and I haven’t even begged for flowers lately. He just likes me sometimes, I guess. That works to his advantage.

So, it wasn’t a loser day after all. Its good to walk through the house with my camera and “capture” the good in a day. Now I am feeling much better.

Leave a Reply

